With more than 200 scientific and general staff members, currently 12 research groups, the educational research center Educational Technologies and the research platform Computational Science Center, the Faculty of Computer Science participates in many national and international cooperation projects, together with economic and scientific partners.

Additional Information

If you are interested in more research related news & information...

Research Groups

Our research groups represent the three main research areas currently established at the faculty:

  • Distributed and Multimedia Systems
  • Algorithms, Software and Computing Technologies
  • Knowledge-Based Methods and Technologies for Digitization

Are you searching for...?

Bioinformatics & Computational Biology

DM - Data Mining

MIS - Multimedia Information Systems

TAA -Theory and Applications of Algorithms

CSLEARN - Educational Technologies

CT-Communication Technologies

EC- Entertainment Computing

SC - Scientific Computing

VDA -Visualization and Data Analysis


The Computational Science Center (CSC) is a research platform belonging to the faculties of Mathematics and Computer Science.

Cooperative Systems - COSY

SWA - Software Architecture

WST - Workflow Systems and Technology


Data Science @ Uni Wien is a new research platform at the University of Vienna that presents a hub on all activities in data science at the University of Vienna.


1 2 3 4 ...

taz FUTURZWEI: Beitrag von Prof. Reichl

Seit 12.6.2018 im Handel: FUTURZWEI mit einem Beitrag von Prof. Peter Reichl (Forschungsgruppe COSY) mit dem Titel "Achilles und die digitale...

CAiSE2018: Best Paper Award für Prof. Rinderle-Ma und Dr. Böhmer

Gute Neuigkeiten aus aus Tallinn, Estland: Prof. Stefanie Rinderle-Ma und Dr. Kristof Böhmer wurden auf der "30th International Conference on Advanced...

Am 10.06. war die Opern-App der Forschungsgruppe COSY bei "Rigoletto" in der Wiener Staatsoper mit Bariton Paolo Rumetz und dem Projektteam (Prof....

NATO Stratcom: Virtual Hackathon

The NATO Strategic Communications Centre of Excellence is organizing a Hackathon titled "Solutions to Detect the Malicious use of Video/photographic...

"Ist künstliche oder menschliche Dummheit gefährlicher?"

Heureka #2 2018: "aiii! Wie klug ist Künstliche Intelligenz?" Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dimitris Karagiannis von der Forschungsgruppe Knowledge Engineering im...

1 2 3 4 ...

 Upcoming events


CS Colloquium am 29.6.2018 mit Yvonne Hofstetter (15:30 | HS1)

Herzliche Einladung zum CS-Colloquium im Juni mit Yvonne Hofstetter zum Thema: "Mensch, Maschine! Die Digitalisierung und ihre Folgen für die...

27.06.2018 15:00

Herzliche Einladung zum CS-Colloquium "Exploring the Effectiveness of Conceptual Models: a User-Centered Perspective" am 27. Juni 2018 um 15:00 im HS3...